Published and Unpublished Content

This topic applies to

Applies to

Site Management Tools

When you use SuiteCommerce Site Management Tools to edit your site, you have published and unpublished content. Published content is displayed to your website visitors. Unpublished content is accessible to only an SMT administrator who is logged in to SMT. Click Review & Publish Changes to review your Unpublished Changes and the Visibility Timeline.

Published Content

Published content is displayed according to the visibility options you specified for each piece of content. This may include images, text and merchandising zones that you added to the site with SMT and then published. When you edit or remove existing published content, those changes display in the unpublished changes list and must be published before they are displayed on the site.

Unpublished Content

When you edit, add, or remove content these changes are saved as unpublished content. This enables you to make changes to your content in advance and then publish those changes to be visible on the site immediately or at a date and time in the future.

When you are ready to publish your changes, click Review & Publish Changes and select the pieces of content you want to publish.

Preview and Edit Modes

When you are viewing the unpublished content on the site, you can view the site in Preview Mode or in Edit Mode. Change the mode by clicking the corresponding button on the toolbar:

Preview Mode

Edit Mode

Preview Mode

When you are in Preview Mode, you see your site as it is currently displayed to site visitors. You can change the preview date by using the View Site as Of date on the SMT toolbar. This lets you preview what the site looks like on the chosen date, including content that may not be currently visible. This might be the case for content with a future start date or content with an end date before the selected preview date. Additionally, you can include or exclude unpublished content in the preview by selecting the option on the toolbar.

Edit Mode

When you are in Edit Mode, you can add, edit, or remove content. Content changes made in Edit Mode are not displayed to visitors until they are published.