Shopping Cart Options for Business Customers

This topic applies to

Applies to

Commerce Web Stores

Business customers can place orders on websites in different ways. For example, a large corporation may have several contacts placing orders for their separate departments whereas small businesses may have one person in charge of ordering. Ordering could also be a collaborative process where two or three contacts work together to place orders. See the help topic Contacts for more information about contacts.

Depending on what is most appropriate for their business customers, administrators can choose from the following shopping cart sharing modes:

  • Separate shopping carts for each customer contact – this option enables each contact defined for a business customer to shop and check out using their own shopping cart. One contact’s cart is not visible to any other customer contact. This prevents situations where one contact removes items that another contact has added or where one contact checks out an order before other contacts have added all the items they need.

    Note

    Though shopping carts are separate for each contact, contacts can see orders placed by all other contacts in the My Account section of the web store.

    If you want the My Account section to contain only the orders placed by the logged in contact, you must use SuiteCommerce or SuiteCommerce Advanced 2019.1 onwards.


  • Single shared shopping cart – this option provides each business customer with a single shopping cart that is shared by all contacts who place orders for that customer.

For both options, there is only one set of payment details that is defined for the business customer.

Shopping Cart Sharing Mode

On the Web Site Setup record, you can choose the shopping cart sharing mode for the website. A different sharing mode can be defined for each website.

To set the Shopping Cart Sharing Mode:

  1. Go to Setup > SuiteCommerce Advanced/ Site Builder > Set Up Web Site.

  2. If you use the Multiple Web Sites feature, click Edit next to a website.

  3. Click the Shopping subtab.

  4. In the Shopping Basics section, select the option you need from the Shopping Cart Sharing Mode dropdown:

    • Single cart shared by all customer contacts – This is the default option.

    • Individual carts for each customer contact

  5. Click Save.

If you switch from a single shared cart to individual carts for contacts, the existing shopping cart is retained and can still be accessed by anyone logging in using the main customer login details. Individual contacts receive new, empty carts when they log in.

If you switch from individual carts to a shared cart, contacts lose access to their separate carts. The individual carts are retained until they expire in about 30 days, but are not accessible unless you choose to switch back to individual carts.

Identify Order Creator

Business customers can identify which of their contacts placed a sales order by:

  • Looking at the Relationships tab of the sales order form. The responsible contact is listed there with the ‘Order Creator’ role.

  • By default, order email are sent only to the contact who placed the order. However, if the CC Customer on All Emails Related to Orders Placed by Contacts email preference is checked, business customers receive copies of all order email for orders placed by their contacts.

To send copies of order email to the customer:

  1. Go to Setup > Company > Email > Email Preferences (Administrator).

  2. On the Transactions subtab, select the CC Customer on All Emails Related to Orders Placed by Contacts checkbox.

  3. Click Save.