SMT Expired Content

This topic applies to

Applies to

Commerce Web Stores | Site Management Tools

 

 

This information refers to SuiteCommerce or the 2019.2 release of SuiteCommerce Advanced or greater.

The Expired Content tab lets you manage content that has passed its visibility end dates. In this context, Expired Content are content or landing pages that have exceeded their visibility end date. This tab provides an efficient way to restore or delete expired content.

When managing Expired Content you can:

  • Update the visibility dates for content and landing pages

  • Permanently delete content and landing pages you do not want to reuse

Similar to the Published Content tab, content is grouped together by the URL. The pages in the content group are listed first, followed by the other types of content. You can select the entire content group by the selecting the header, or you can choose individual pieces of content.

Filter and Sort Expired Content

There are many ways for you to filter content:

  • Content Type — This lets you filter content by type. So you can look at just HTML, Image, Text, Page, or other types of content.

  • Path — This lets you filter by the location, or URL.

  • Tags — This lets you filter content by the additional information you used in the tags field.

Click Apply to filter content based on the set of values. Click Reset to remove the filters or to choose another set of filter values.

Change Visibility of Expired Content

After content expires, it is no longer available to customers. You can easily restore expired content so the content or landing pages display again. When you update the visibility of expired content, you can set the visibility dates to make the content available immediately or in the future.

For example, lets say you created a new landing page for a 30–day sale. When the sale ends, perhaps you haven’t reached your sales goals or have leftover inventory you still want to sell at the promotional price. You can now use SMT to quickly make the landing page, and any content for the landing page, available to your customers.

To update visibility dates of expired content:

  1. Click Overview on the site management toolbar.

  2. Click Expired Content.

  3. Choose the content you want to update, set the new visibility dates, click Save.

    • Click Yes to save the changes.

    • Click No to discard the changes. You are returned to the list with all of the previously selected content.

  4. As with most content, you must publish changes before they are applied to the content.

  5. Click Review & Publish Changes.

  6. Select the changes you want to publish. Click Publish.

See Visibility Dates.

Delete Expired Content

When content passes the visibility end date, it is no longer visible to your customers. If you have content that is not expired on a landing page that expires, that content is no longer available to your customers.

Lets follow up on the example from changing the visibility dates for deleting expired content. You created a landing page and content for a special sale and now the sale is over. You have no use for the expired content and want to delete from the website.

Important

This permanently deletes the content record from NetSuite. Deleted content is not recoverable.


To delete expired content:

  1. Click Overview on the site management toolbar.

  2. Click Expired Content.

  3. Choose the content you want to permanently delete and click Delete.

    • Click Yes to permanently delete the changes.

    • Click No to discard the changes. You are returned to the list with all of the previously selected content.

  4. If the content is successfully deleted, you will received confirmation message.

  5. The content is now deleted.