Managing Multiple Languages for SCIS

This topic applies to

Applies to

SuiteCommerce InStore

Administrators can setup SCIS to support multiple languages. This is useful if you use SCIS in multiple retail locations where sales associates speak different languages. Sales associates can select the language of their choice in the User Menu. First enable the Multi-Language feature in your NetSuite account, select languages in NetSuite, and then select them on your SCIS website.

To setup SCIS to support multiple languages:

  1. Ensure that the Multi-Language feature is enabled at Setup > Company > Enable Features.

  2. Enable the languages that you want to show in SCIS. Do this in your NetSuite account first. Go to Setup > Company > General Preferences. On the languages subtab, select the languages you want to show in SCIS.

  3. Select the languages on the SCIS website. Go to Setup > SuiteCommerce Advanced > Set Up Web Site.

    1. Click Edit next to your SCIS website.

    2. Click the Shopping subtab.

      At the bottom of the page, click Languages. Mark the languages you want available online. Sales associates will be able to choose these languages in the SCIS User menu.

  4. Click Save.

SuiteCommerce InStore installs a language folder in the file cabinet which includes translations for UI strings. The folder contains a set of JavaScript files—one for each language supported in SCIS.

You can make changes to any of these JavaScript files to change the translation for a particular term. Note, however that the languages folder is updated and each file is overwritten periodically, with each e-fix and major release to the managed SuiteApp. If you make changes to one of the language files, save a copy of the modified file on your computer. After a scheduled release, you can upload your modified file to reapply your customization.

Important

If you make changes to one of the JavaScript files in the Languages folder, download and save the modified file on your computer. After a managed SuiteApp update, all files in the languages folder are overwritten. After an update, you must upload your modified file to reapply your customization.